Print this page

Science and Engineering Advisory Committee (SEAC)

The SKA Board has established a Science and Engineering Advisory Committee (SEAC) to advise the Director-General and the Board on scientific and technical matters.

Recognising that, in the pre-construction phase of the project, the development of the design of the SKA requires a close interaction between scientists and engineers, the SEAC has the following terms of reference:

  1. The committee consists of no more than 18 respected scientists and engineers identified by the Director-General and appointed by the SKA Board. The membership has broad geographic and cultural diversity and the required skill base to deliver its terms of reference. The members of the committee act as individual experts and do not represent any organisation.
  2. The SEAC members are appointed for a period of 3 years, which may be renewed if appropriate.
  3. The SKA Board selects the Chair of the SEAC from amongst its members. The members of SEAC select a Deputy-Chair.
  4. The SEAC provides advice to the Director-General and to the Board on the:
    • Status of the SKA science case and the ability of the design to deliver it.
    • Status of SKA technical developments and of the technical risk register.
    • Impact of implementing specific design choices on the performance of the telescope
    • Plans for, and progress on, the work needed to deliver a costed detailed design
    • Plans for the construction, commissioning and operation of the facilities and for access to them by the scientific users
    • Other scientific or technical issues as appropriate.
  5. As required the SKA Board or Director-General can provide a specific charge to the committee to seek advice on a particular topic or topics.
  6. The committee will meet face-to-face at least once per calendar year. The Director-General can request the committee to meet more frequently if required, possibly by video or teleconference.
  7. Between meetings, the SEAC members will be kept informed of relevant developments by e-mail and, taking account of their individual interests and expertise, they will be invited to reviews and other meetings where their presence would be helpful to the Project or the work of the SEAC.
  8. The SEAC will provide a written report to the Director-General following each meeting. The Director-General will provide a written response. Both documents will be presented to the SKA Board.


SEAC Members

Members Affiliation
Andrea Ferrara – Chair Univ. of Pisa (Italy)
Matthias Steinmetz Astrophysical Institute Potsdam (Germany)
Greg Taylor University of New Mexico (USA)
Adrian Russell ESO (Germany)
Naomi McClure-Griffiths ANU (Australia)
Marco de Vos ASTRON (Netherlands)
Andreas Kaufer ESO (Germany)
Brian Glendenning NRAO (USA)
Justin Jonas SKA SA (South Africa)
Kristine Spekkens Royal Military College of Canada (CA) (Canada)
Jack Dongarra Univ. of Tennessee (USA)
Tracy Clarke US Naval Research Laboratory (USA)
Anita Loots SKA SA (South Africa)
Carole Mundell Univ. of Bath
Giovanni Paresch INAF (Italy)
Xiangping Wu NAOC (China)
Uday Shankar Raman Research Institute (India)
Cathryn Trott  Curtin Univ. (Australia)

Also in this section