Print this page

Participating Countries

With 40% of the world’s population involved, the SKA Project is truly a global enterprise.

Organisations from fifteen countries are currently taking part in the SKA at government or national-coordination level – Australia, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Italy, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Portugal, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, and the United Kingdom.

16:9 version available here.

Furthermore, whilst 15 countries are at the core of the SKA, around 100 organisations across about 20 countries have been participating in the design and development of the SKA and are now engaged in the detailed design of the telescope.

The 14 organisations* that represent participating countries on the SKA Organisation Board of Directors include:

* Portugal is an observer on the SKA Organisation Board of Directors, and has signed the SKA Observatory treaty.