Print this page

Science and Engineering Advisory Committee (SEAC)

The Science and Engineering Advisory Committee (SEAC) was established by the SKA Board to advise the Director-General and the Board on matters related to scientific and technical issues.

Recognising that, in the pre-construction phase of the project, the development of the design of the SKA requires a close interaction between scientists and engineers, the SEAC will have the following terms of reference:

1. The committee will comprise of respected scientists and engineers identified by the Director-General and appointed by the SKA Board. The membership will have broad geographic & cultural diversity and the required skill base to deliver its terms of reference. The members of the committee act as individual experts and do not represent any organisation.

2. The SEAC members are appointed for a period of 3 years, which may be renewed if appropriate.

3. The SKA Board will select the Chair of the SEAC from amongst its members. The members of SEAC will select a Deputy-Chair.

4. The committee will meet face-to-face once per calendar year. The Director-General can request the committee to meet more frequently if required, possibly by video or teleconference.

5. As required the SKA Board or Director-General can provide a specific charge to the committee to seek appropriate advice.

6. The SEAC will provide a written report to the Director-General following each meeting. The Director-General will provide a written response. Both documents will be presented to the SKA Board.

SEAC Members

Members Affiliation
Andrea Ferrara – Chair Univ. of Pisa (Italy)
Matthias Steinmetz Astrophysical Institute Potsdam (Germany)
Greg Taylor University of New Mexico (USA)
Adrian Russell ESO (Germany)
Naomi McClure-Griffiths ANU (Australia)
Marco de Vos ASTRON (Netherlands)
Andreas Kaufer ESO (Germany)
Brian Glendenning NRAO (USA)
Justin Jonas SKA SA (South Africa)
Kristine Spekkens Royal Military College of Canada (CA) (Canada)
Jack Dongarra Univ. of Tennessee (USA)
Tracy Clarke US Naval Research Laboratory (USA)
Anita Loots SKA SA (South Africa)
Carole Mundell Univ. of Bath
Giovanni Paresch INAF (Italy)
Xiangping Wu NAOC (China)
Uday Shankar Raman Research Institute (India)
Cathryn Trott  Curtin Univ. (Australia)